Gå til indhold

About the Danish regions

The prime tasks for Denmark’s five regions are provision of health care, hospital services and the funding of general practitioners. Providing efficient prehospital services, ambulance operations and other such elements in emergency medical services are also the responsibility of the regions.

The Danish healthcare system is based on the principle of equal and free access to healthcare for all citizens. The vast majority of healthcare services in Denmark is financed by taxes.

The healthcare system in Denmark operates on three different levels:

National level
The Parliament and the Government set the regulatory framework.

Regional level
The five regions are responsible for health care services, operating hospitals, prehospital services in each regional geography

Local level
98 municipalities are responsible for public health, prevention initiatives, rehabilitation, home care, and elderly care.

Denmarks five regions - population size, area and population density

Go to the five regions' websites:

The regions have been responsible for healthcare services since 2007 following a structural reform. The governing body of each region is a regional council. Each regional council has 41 members who are directly elected every four years. The regional council is headed by a president who is elected by the members.

Providing healthcare services to citizens in all parts of Denmark, the regions are also responsible for employing staff in the health care sector. Thus, the regions are responsible for negotiating salary and workings conditions for more than 135.000 healthcare professionals.